Don’t stop believin’: Part I

Hi.  My name is…(standard)

I really love your work…(butt-kissing)

Hello.  You look exactly how I pictured you…(untrue)

Ciao!  Do you like pasta?…(Italian)

You need me!…(kinda weird)

None of these phrases were uttered by yours truly to famous filmmaker who is working on a big-time flick in her little-bittie mountain town.  Nope.  Said nothing.  In fact, in the few occasions I had to speak with someone whose work I admire greatly I basically stuttered and walked the other way; not dissimilar to actions taken at an 8th grade dance. I wanted so badly to dance with THE BOY but couldn’t muster up the courage-sauntering over to the wall of silk shirts with no eye contact and then making a bee-line to the hallway, pretending I had somewhere really important to be…like the girls bathroom to wash the embarrassment off of my face.

When I was eight, I met Bette Midler.  They were filming Beaches at the college my mom worked at.  I am sure I had sweaty palms.  But, I did it and subsequently got a signed notebook paper saying “Aloha Alice”.  Totally worth it.

Why could I do that at age eight and now, 24 years later I’m such a friggin’ wimp?  Even then I had dreams of performing.  I went for it.  Shortly after seeing Beaches (which then turned out to be my favorite movie for the next two years), Mayim Bialik’s audition piece “TheStory of Love” becoming my own personal theme song (“I’ve Had the Time of my Life”, which I sang last night at kareoke-of course-took second place).  I wore out the soundtrack tape and had to get another one.  Bette Midlar became a role model for me-she was really nice to me and hugged me when I nervously asked for her autograph.     I was in love with her voice (who could forget “The Rose”?), her flowing red locks, her laugh…There are benefits to meeting cool people who happen to be well-known.  Bette, you are still my hero.

I’ve met a lot of famous people in my life, most of them accidentally or in random situations.  I like it that way because I feel more spontaneous and authentic.  However, I spent approximately three hours dancing and doing kareoke with one awesome director, cast and crew and said nothing!  He appeared to be a pretty normal dude, in his Sorel’s and messy hair.  My friends talked to him with ease.  At one point, as he said goodbye to folks we made eye contact.  And I quickly looked away.  Weird!

Did I mention seeing Conan O’Brien repeatedly for one week and never saying more than a hurried “hi”?

What’s wrong with me?

Maybe it’s the fear of repeating the incident I had meeting David Byrne, one of my favorite performers and all-around cool people of all time.  After one truly amazing concert and dance fest, I got to hang out with the band.  When introduced to Mr. Byrne I was asked to translate for some of the Italians in the group.  After the tables turned to me I started saying really random things and then couldn’t stop stumbling and saying even more random things.  He politely said “Thank you?”, my cue to leave.  AWKWARD!  I’ve replayed that event in my head many times.  I think a simple high five and nice work would’ve sufficed.

I need to get over myself.  I talk to people all the time.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I talk too much.  I have no problem performing.  I love meeting new friends.  What’s any different between this person and the slew of folks I meet every week at my job or online?  

Seize that lil’ ‘ole day.  Right?  Bette would want me to…

This is one big hurdle for me, people.  I’m going to get over it and post the update.  How could the girl who used to do this routine by heart to any and all people who would listen chicken out on such a fantastic opportunity?

Comments
One Response to “Don’t stop believin’: Part I”
  1. k.c. says:

    I can’t wait to find out who this is about! Gather up all the lady balls you’ve got and make some contact, I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

The chosen one.

Art and Photography

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

GANJAOLOGY.ORG

FOR THE LOVE OF THE ORGANIC FUNDAMENTALS OF LIFE!

poemsforsyria

Just another WordPress.com site

Syrian Emergency Task Force

One Syria One People

Foreign Policy Review

Think Tank and Blog posts on FA/FP and Europe

AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Not Just an Ordinary Thought

Digital Culture in the Humanities

PositivePressAgency

Raise your vibration.

MARKETING THE ARTS TO DEATH

How Lazy Language is Killing Culture

No Plain Jane

Theatre reviews and musings (mostly) from Adelaide

saysmeken47

Just another WordPress.com site

redbeardbard

I am not a theatre critic. I am a critic of theatre.

A QUIET REVOLUTION

△ Helping women create more embodied, empowered and delicious lives △

