The Actioning of Easter

I’m in full preparation mode. Writing, Planning, Rehearsing and…moving.

In the middle of packing, Easter happened.

The weekend of elected insanity started on Friday, a group of people from all ages and nationalities came to my house for a potluck, a send-off for my friends from India, Vietnam and Bali who are going back to their families this week after their first year in the states. This was the result:

Saturday equaled packing myself out of my house. Boring and necessary, let’s skip to the good parts.

Here is the step by step process of my experience yesterday:

Alarm went off at 5:14, at 545 I was in my car, heading to meet my friend for a sunrise service at 10,500 feet.

Big line. Unexpected crowds, waiting in the cold to have the unique experience of taking the Tram at 615 am.

100 people made it on that vessel to the heavens but I was not one of them. By-passing the impromptu service for the 200 people who were left at 6,400 feet (it’s not every day I get up predawn-couldn’t let big hotels get in the way of seeing the sun rise over Sleeping Indian).

I drove a few miles to hear the symphony of the trumpeter swans.

My battery died before the sun actually came up but before it did I caught the swans:

I headed to a (still) early morning service and inaugurated the day with a burrito, of course!

(Too long since meat and potatoes!)

Loved this little guy.

After going to church, hearing beautiful music and seeing cute kids, I went home to experience my second breakfast with the friend who actually made the tram.

Four hours later, after the glory of that deck breakfast, 20 or so boxes were “packed”.

I missed the end of the year party, but another friend made sure project1979 made an appearance. Note the monoski.

After thanking a fantastically tall man who helped keep me sane, I put my feet up and conversed with my 87-year-old grandma who spent her Easter visiting people in nursing homes.

And…have another burrito (of course) and listen to the sounds of kids playing and dogs fetching.

Wrapping up the day with a drive to see friends and drink mimosas wasn’t a terrible idea.

The night ended with Balderdash and a heating pad for the back that paid for that glorious day. It was well worth it.

And today, as I envelope the much overdue prize packages won months ago and nurse my aching lumbar vertebrae, I will revel in  yesterday’s unforgettable dawn.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Actioning of Easter”
  1. k.c. says:

    You had an awesome day! That burrito looks delish, btw. Gorgeous sunrise photos, too.

Leave a Reply

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Anny Reads and Rolls

Despre cărți, oameni și impresii

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

GANJAOLOGY.ORG

FOR THE LOVE OF THE ORGANIC FUNDAMENTALS OF LIFE!

poemsforsyria

Just another WordPress.com site

Syrian Emergency Task Force

One Syria One People

Foreign Policy Review

Think Tank and Blog posts on FA/FP and Europe

AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Not Just an Ordinary Thought

Digital Culture in the Humanities

PositivePressAgency

Raise your vibration.

MARKETING THE ARTS TO DEATH

How Lazy Language is Killing Culture

No Plain Jane

Theatre reviews and musings (mostly) from Adelaide

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

saysmeken47

Just another WordPress.com site

redbeardbard

I am not a theatre critic. I am a critic of theatre.

A QUIET REVOLUTION

BLOG ARCHIVE

