Into the Wild: the Met, Movement and Motherhood

Former Rockette Sarah Weber Gallo balances (pun intended) being a mom with her day job balleting at the Metropolitan Opera while squeezing in opportunities to create movement pieces outside of work. I met Super Sarah at the Indy Convergence a few weeks ago and understood shortly thereafter that she was a force to be reckoned with. Her wonderfully flamboyant “Flashdance” choreography had me at hello! Between tech rehearsals, I got to speak with her and was quite charmed by her her poised devotion to her art. It’s exciting to share a bit of her life with you. Enjoy!

What do you do?I dance for the Metropolitan Opera of Ballet during the season which runs Aug-May while taking care of my child. I am about to start MFA to transition into a university position.

What did it take for you to get to where you are today? It took a sense of humor, thick skin and a lot of practice. I tried not to be a dancer. I went to college to not be a dance major as I felt it was an unreasonable carreer choice to be a dancer. However, all of my internships were in the dance field.  Recently, when I found out the my tenure position at the Met had been terminated, I thought about being practical and developing a business idea. However, I feel that I have invested heavily in my career as a dancer and want to continue to dedicate my talents in this field.


Where do you draw your greatest inspiration? Music. I am moved by music and intrigued by people who don’t like it. There is such a value found from seeking a form of non-verbal communication-it enables you to listen more.

What’s the biggest hurdle in getting to where you are? First, my physical injury (I broke my Achilles tendon while dancing and six months pregnant). Second, refusing something because of pride.

What’s the highlight of your day? This one is a toss up between a.) seeing my daughter’s smiling face right when she wakes and b.) the awareness of moving beautifully through space with others. Both are incredible gifts.

Theme song/album/band of your adolescence?  I’ll go with Wham’s “Careless Whisper”. It was the first 45 I ever bought, and I would get all moony and angsty listening to it. My sister ultimately broke the record, and I told her I hated her, which I still feel bad about.

When you look back at the decades of your life, what do you feel makes you proud to be part of our generation? This one is difficult for me because I am really of a more cynical generation than you 79ers and 80ers. I think we work really hard and do not have the same sense of entitlement that some of today’s young people seem to have. We earn.

If you could get one thing back from your past, what would it be? I am sticking with the Cabin at Laurel Lake. It was a beloved family property built by my great grandfather and then sold away for a pittance by a rankerous cheating uncle.

Best piece of advice given or received? Don’t just go banging through the front door when knocking gently on the back door with a pie would suffice. I still endeavor to reign myself in with the memory of this advice.


http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/101333?c=comments&a=441232

Comments
2 Responses to “Into the Wild: the Met, Movement and Motherhood”
  1. k.c. says:

    I have to disagree with this: “This one is difficult for me because I am really of a more cynical generation than you 79ers and 80ers. I think we work really hard and do not have the same sense of entitlement that some of today’s young people seem to have. We earn.”

    We are of the same generation as she, IMO. We aren’t the ones who grew up with the internet and cell phones, that was at the end of our teens. I’ve never felt we have a sense of entitlement. Rather, I think our group has been dumped on by our parents’ generation, as I’ve stated once before. We are the ones with student loans out the wazoo, who are cleaning up the messes the baby boomers created, who have a lack of security after the people before us ruined the economy with their refinancing and upside mortgages. And even if we were the next generation, I wouldn’t say that they don’t earn. They have just grown up in a more pampered fashion than we have. Besides, they’ll be paying off college until they are ready for that social security that they (and we) won’t have, LOL!

  2. k.c. says:

    *upside down mortgages

Leave a Reply

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Anny Reads and Rolls

Despre cărți, oameni și impresii

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

GANJAOLOGY.ORG

FOR THE LOVE OF THE ORGANIC FUNDAMENTALS OF LIFE!

poemsforsyria

Just another WordPress.com site

Syrian Emergency Task Force

One Syria One People

Foreign Policy Review

Think Tank and Blog posts on FA/FP and Europe

AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Not Just an Ordinary Thought

Digital Culture in the Humanities

PositivePressAgency

Raise your vibration.

MARKETING THE ARTS TO DEATH

How Lazy Language is Killing Culture

No Plain Jane

Theatre reviews and musings (mostly) from Adelaide

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

saysmeken47

Just another WordPress.com site

redbeardbard

I am not a theatre critic. I am a critic of theatre.

A QUIET REVOLUTION

BLOG ARCHIVE

