Inspiring Monday: I cannot sit idly by,

I cannot sit idly by.

About 50 years ago, Martin Luther King, Jr. wrote a letter while being imprisoned in Birmingham.

He was a year older than I am now. A year ago I was here:

https://project1979.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/374/

And, of the many things that he wrote in that letter,

I cannot sit idly by in Atlanta and not be concerned about what happens in Birmingham. Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly. Never again can we afford to live with the narrow, provincial “outside agitator” idea. Anyone who lives inside the United States can never be considered an outsider anywhere within its bounds.

What am I waiting for?

As project1979 unfolds I am learning to see myself through the people I meet. Through the interviews and shows and photographs. I see how others view the world and their lives but most importantly I see so many people who truly stand up for what they believe in, be it music, the carbon footprint, parenting, voting, being good neighbors, being kind to those who love them and to strangers, too.

There have been many a dark spot during this process of creating project1979. Although I started this process to inspire my generation to tell their story, I am learning that I am the one being inspired by the lives of you. In the small and big, in the dark and the light, with each life I come across I find myself living a little more. Seeing the courage of others to be heroes in their own unique ways, helps me to continue on this crazy path.

May the words and life of Martin Luther King, jr. inspire you all to live the lives you deserve,

When our days become dreary with low-hovering clouds of despair, and when our nights become darker than a thousand midnights, let us remember that there is a creative force in this universe, working to pull down the gigantic mountains of evil, a power that is able to make a way out of no way and transform dark yesterdays into bright tomorrows.

MARTIN LUTHER KING JR., A Testament of Hope

How long? Not long!

I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality… I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word.

Thank you, Martin Luther King, Jr. and to all of those who remind me not to sit idly by.

We are paving the way to the future for many lives to come. This is our moment.

project1979logosmall

http://www.facebook.com/project1979?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Anny Reads and Rolls

Despre cărți, oameni și impresii

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

GANJAOLOGY.ORG

FOR THE LOVE OF THE ORGANIC FUNDAMENTALS OF LIFE!

poemsforsyria

Just another WordPress.com site

Syrian Emergency Task Force

One Syria One People

Foreign Policy Review

Think Tank and Blog posts on FA/FP and Europe

AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Not Just an Ordinary Thought

Digital Culture in the Humanities

PositivePressAgency

Raise your vibration.

MARKETING THE ARTS TO DEATH

How Lazy Language is Killing Culture

No Plain Jane

Theatre reviews and musings (mostly) from Adelaide

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

saysmeken47

Just another WordPress.com site

redbeardbard

I am not a theatre critic. I am a critic of theatre.

A QUIET REVOLUTION

BLOG ARCHIVE

