This is hero: his dream

Today I leave for a year in China.

I don’t know how I feel exactly, although I am pretending to be brave but I know that what I’m facing is so little compared to what is on the plates of others.

All around me are examples of 30-something’s courage, from Marcel Mettelsiefen (35) and his work in Aleppo:

marcel_mettelsiefen

You ask yourself why you do this, why you are in this kind of situation even though you already set some limits. You ask yourself whether you will ultimately have the courage to respect these limits and pull back if things get too dangerous…But somehow, I ended up just as I started: as a photographer in crisis zones.

http://www.spiegel.de

The anniversary of Martin Luther King, Jr. (34)’s “I Have A Dream” speech:

images

My cousin (31) nearly died suddenly in May of a rare autoimmune disease that attacked his kidneys so violently that he has no functioning kidneys and is on dialysis. Now, after months of applying to Medicaid and Medicare (and being  turned down several times), he will begin the process of testing for a transplant.

1069822_646544858690697_1602117263_n

In this room, reeking of almost death

We come, and we lay together

In observance and obedience

To those who set the clock.

Every time I enter the citadel

I stop and practice the ritual.

“92.4”  I tell them and my particular angel,

She always writes it down.

My angels are on a rotation,

A carousel, that I so want to get off.

But I keep coming, and seeing

These same, dying faces.

Blood in, blood out.

“How much did you take?”

3:45-What an odd number.

What an odd time

to preserve what’s left of a life.

Homily

Dialysis Poem, July 2013

So, what I’m doing is not courage at all, but I will keep this people so inspiring, in my heart as I take new steps unto uncovering a new chapter of my life.

project1979logosmall

Leave a Reply

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

Anny Reads and Rolls

Despre cărți, oameni și impresii

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

GANJAOLOGY.ORG

FOR THE LOVE OF THE ORGANIC FUNDAMENTALS OF LIFE!

poemsforsyria

Just another WordPress.com site

Syrian Emergency Task Force

One Syria One People

Foreign Policy Review

Think Tank and Blog posts on FA/FP and Europe

AmusED

Amy's Whimsical Musings

Not Just an Ordinary Thought

Digital Culture in the Humanities

PositivePressAgency

Raise your vibration.

MARKETING THE ARTS TO DEATH

How Lazy Language is Killing Culture

No Plain Jane

Theatre reviews and musings (mostly) from Adelaide

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

saysmeken47

Just another WordPress.com site

redbeardbard

I am not a theatre critic. I am a critic of theatre.

A QUIET REVOLUTION

BLOG ARCHIVE

